Main Commission Member and Committee 3 Chair Dr Kimberly Applegate Honoured by AAPM


On 15 July 2019, during the American Association of Physicists in Medicine’s (AAPM) 61st Annual Meeting & Exhibition in San Antonio, Texas, Main Commission Member and Committee 3 Chair Dr Kimberly Applegate was awarded Honourary Membership.

Honourary Membership to AAPM is bestowed upon individuals who have provided exemplary service to other societies that support medical physics. 

Dr Applegate is Chair of ICRP Committee 3, focusing on radiological protection in medicine, and until her recent retirement, was a professor of radiology and pediatrics at the University of Kentucky in Lexington. Her policy and research work, including over 200 publications, has resulted in an improved understanding of the structure, process, and outcomes of how pediatric imaging is practiced.  These examples include the volume of ionising imaging in children, the variation in radiation dose in pediatric CT, and the standardisation of practice for both children and adults. She has worked collaboratively around the world across medical specialties and geographic boundaries to improve access to best practices.

Continuing to serve on the Steering Committee of the Image Gently Alliance since its inception in 2007, Dr Applegate is dedicated to its mission to improve safe and effective imaging care of children worldwide, and to engage with AAPM as a founding member.

Additionally, Dr Applegate has received numerous awards including the American Association for Women in Radiology’s Marie Sklowdoska Curie Award for her unique roles in leadership and outstanding contributions to the advancement of women in the Radiology Professions. She is the first woman elected Speaker of the American College of Radiology and chair of its national guidelines committee.

Dr Applegate is married to Dr George Parker and they have three grown sons, David, and twins Eric and Andrew.

Congratulations Kimberly!

Questions and inquiries can be directed to Kelsey Cloutier, Development and Communications Manager for ICRP.