ICRP Announces Main Commission for Next Term


The ICRP Main Commission and Committees operate on fixed four-year terms, with the current term ending on June 30, 2017.

Turnover is a natural part of this process, bringing in new people with new ideas, to compliment those with years of experience in ICRP. 

Last week, Main Commission and Committee members were elected for the July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2021 term. We are pleased to announce the membership for the Main Commission:

·      Claire Cousins (Chair), United Kingdom

·      Jacques Lochard (Vice-Chair), France

·      Werner Rühm (C1 Chair), Germany

·      John Harrison (C2 Chair), United Kingdom

·      Donald Miller (C3 Chair), USA

·      Donald Cool (C4 Chair), USA

·      Simon Bouffler, United Kingdom

·      Kunwoo Cho, South Korea

·      Michiaki Kai, Japan

·      Carl-Magnus Larsson, Australia

·      Dominique Laurier, France

·      Senlin Liu, China

·      Sergey Romanov, Russia

Many thanks to John Boice, Jaiki Lee, Hua Liu, Hans-Georg Menzel, Ohtsura Niwa, and Eliseo Vano for their many years of dedication to ICRP and the field of Radiological Protection while serving as members of the Main Commission.  We wish them all the best as they join the ranks of distinguished ICRP alumni on July 1st. 

Individuals elected to the four ICRP Committees will receive invitations in the coming weeks. We look forward to announcing the results once their membership has been confirmed. 

The total number of Committee members receiving invitations has decreased slightly from previous years. This gives us more flexibility to consider a few additional members during the term, to bring in expertise as needed, and to continue to improve the diversity of our membership. 

Any questions can be directed to Kelsey Cloutier, Development and Communications Manager.