Departure of Abel González from ICRP


Main Commission member Academician Abel J. González has decided to leave ICRP after 36 years of membership. At the time of his departure, Abel was the longest serving member of ICRP. He joined Committee 4 in 1977, under Committee 4 Chair Henri Jammet (France). ICRP Chairman and Vice-Chairman at the time were Bo Lindell (Sweden) and Dan Beninson (Argentina). In 2001 Abel was elected to the Main Commission under ICRP Chairman Roger Clarke (UK), and he served as ICRP Vice-Chairman from 2008 to 2013.

His long and active service to ICRP will be honoured at a Gala Dinner on October 22, 2013, as part of the 2nd International Symposium on the System of Radiological Protection in Abu Dhabi.