Register for Updates | Search | Contacts | Site Map | Member Login


Committee 3
Protection in Medicine

Committee 3 is concerned with protection of persons and unborn children when ionising radiation is used for medical diagnosis, therapy, or for biomedical research; also, assessment of the medical consequences of accidental exposures.

Committee 3 in Seoul, October 2016 – From left to right back: Ola Holmberg (IAEA representative), Sandor Demeter, Colin Martin, Katrine Åhlström Riklund, Pierre Scalliet, Keon Kang, Michel Bourguignon and Reinhard Loose. From left to right front: Baorong Yue, Pedro Ortiz-López, Madan Rehani (Secretary), Eliseo Vañó (Chair), Donald Miller (Vice-Chair), Kimberly Applegate, Pek-Lan Khong. Inset: Yoshiharu Yonekura, Lawrence Dauer.

Summaries of Committee 3 Meetings:


Prof Kimberly E. Applegate  
University of Kentucky, USA
Curriculum Vitae

Telephone and E-mail (Office)


Dr Colin Martin 
University of Glasgow, UK
Curriculum Vitae


Prof Madan M. Rehani 
Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts General Hospital , USA
Curriculum Vitae


Jamila Salem Alsuwaidi 
Dubai Health Authority, UAE
Curriculum Vitae

Business Address
Department of Medical Education
P.O.Box 4545
Dubai, UAE

Lodewijk Van Bladel 
FANC, Belgium
Prof Michel Bourguignon 
French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France
Curriculum Vitae
Marie-Claire Cantone 
University of Milan, Italy
Curriculum Vitae
Sandor Demeter 
University of Manitoba, Canada

Telephone and E-mail (Office)
Makoto Hosono 
Kindai University, Japan
Curriculum Vitae
Keon Kang 
Seoul National University, Korea
Curriculum Vitae
Prof Reinhard Loose 
Hospital Nuremberg, Germany
Curriculum Vitae
Josep M Martí-Climent 
Yantao Niu 
Tongren Hospital,CMU,China
Curriculum Vitae
William Small 
Curriculum Vitae
David Sutton 
NHS Tayside / University of Dundee, UK