Register for Updates | Search | Contacts | Site Map | Member Login


Committee 4
Application of the Commission's Recommendations

Committee 4 is concerned with providing advice on the application of the recommended system of protection in all its facets for occupational and public exposure. It also acts as the major point of contact with other international organisations and professional societies concerned with protection against ionising radiation.

Committee 4 in Seoul, October 2015 – From left to right back: Michiaki Kai, Analia Canoba, Ann McGarry, Deborah Oughton, Thiagan Pather, Senlin Liu. From left to right front: John Takala, Sergey Shinkarev, Jean-Francois Lecomte (Secretary), Donald Cool (Chair), Anne Nisbet, Kun-Woo Cho, François Bochud, Michael Boyd. Inset: Toshimitsu Homma, Eduardo Gallego.

Summaries of Committee 4 meetings:


Dr Donald A Cool 
Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), USA
Curriculum Vitae


Dr Kathryn A Higley 
Oregon State University, USA
Curriculum Vitae

Business Address
School of Nuclear Science and Engineering
Oregon State University
CORVALLIS, OR 97331-5902


Mr Jean-Francois Lecomte 
French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France


Nobuhiko Ban 
Nuclear Regulation Authority, Japan
Curriculum Vitae
Prof François Bochud 
IRA CHUV, Switzerland

Business Address
Rue du Grand-Pré 1
CH-1007 Lausanne
Michael Boyd 
Analia Canoba 
Autoridad Regulatoria Nuclear (ARN), Argentina
Prof David Copplestone 
University of Stirling, UK

Business Address
Biological and Environmental Sciences
School of Natural Sciences
University of Stirling

Telephone and E-mail (Office)
Prof. Eduardo Gallego 
Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
Curriculum Vitae

Telephone and E-mail (Office)
Gillian Hirth 
ARPANSA, Australia
Toshimitsu Homma 
Nuclear Regulation Authority, Japan
Dr Catrin Koch 
OKG NPP, Sweden
Yahong Mao 
NNSA, China
Nicole Martinez 
Clemson University, USA
Dr Anne Nisbet 
Public Health England, UK
Dr Thierry Schneider 
CEPN, France
Dr Sergey Shinkarev 
Burnasyan Federal Medical Biophysical Center, Russian Federation
John Takala 
Cameco Corporation, Canada

Telephone and E-mail
306-956-6486 (Office) (Main email)