Mr Christopher H. Clement MSc CHP MSRP

Main Commission, Scientific Secretary (2008/12/01 - )
Scientific Secretariat, Scientific Secretary (2008/12/01 - )



Business Address
International Commission on Radiological Protection
PO Box 1046, Station B
280 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5S9

E-mail & Phone (Office) (Assistant)
+1 (613) 944-1918 (Office)
+1 (613) 947-9750 (Assistant)
+1 (613) 944-1920 (Fax)

Christopher Clement has been the Scientific Secretary of the International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP) since 2008, the ninth to hold this position since 1928. He oversees the daily business of ICRP, represents the organisation in many international fora, and has presented well over 250 invited lectures in more than 25 countries on the work of ICRP and radiological protection. As Editor-in-Chief, he has overseen the production of more than 50 issues of Annals of the ICRP (spanning more than 30 ICRP Publications), the basis of radiological protection standards, legislation, and practice world-wide. In addition to his ICRP duties, since 2012 he has been a member of the International Radiation Protection Association (IRPA) Executive Council. 

Mr Clement has an honours Bachelor of Science degree with dual majors in physics and computer science from the University of Guelph, a Master of Science degree in medical physics from McMaster University, and is a Certified Health Physicist. He has more than thirty years of experience in radiological protection, working in environmental monitoring and remediation, radiological counter-terrorism, and as Director of Radiation Protection at the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission overseeing radiation protection regulation in all sectors across the country. He was Federal Co-Chair of the Canadian Federal-Provincial-Territorial Radiation Protection Committee, and represented Canada at the IAEA Radiation Safety Standards Committee and the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency’s Committee on Radiation Protection and Public Health.

He received the Ambassador’s Award from the Ambassador of Japan to Canada for his work in recovery after the Fukushima Daiichi accident and the promotion of mutual understanding and friendly relations between Japan and Canada. In addition, he received the two highest honours of the Canadian Radiation Protection Association (CRPA): the Distinguished Achievement Award, and the Richard V. Osborne Founders' Award.