

ICTP INTERNATIONAL COMMISSION ON RADIOLOGICAL PROTECTION

ICRP Ref 4821-1502-9916 10 July 2019

Task Group (TG) 99, a joint effort by Committee 1 and Committee 4 dedicated to "Reference Animals and Plants (RAPs) Monographs" met for a two-day working session on 1-2 July 2019 at the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)/Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) headquarters in Boulogne-Billancourt near Paris. The group is completing the first step of its programme of work. The participants discussed the draft report, considering the data used and the methods developed to support guidance for the best use and practices of RAPs in support of the application of the system of radiological protection of the environment in planned, emergency, and existing exposure situations. Although RAPs were initially defined at the family level, new data meta-analysis for both radionuclide transfers and radiological effects have been performed for wider animals or plants groups at the class level (e.g., mammals, fish). The discussion on how to determine the Derived Consideration Reference Levels (DCRLs), which are benchmarks in the ICRP approach of environmental risk assessment, was very fruitful. It was guided by the need for justification and transparency of the method and underlying data to derive DCRL values and by operational features when applying them to a given exposure situation.

TG 99 is proud to welcome two new corresponding members: Dr Christelle Adam-Guillermin from IRSN, who will bring her expertise in reviewing mutation effects in non-human species, and Dr Katherine Raines, the first young scientist joining the ICRP's mentorship programme.



Participants to the meeting from left to right

Frederic Alonzo (Corresponding Member), French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France, Christelle Adam-Guillermin (Corresponding Member), French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France, Nick Beresford (Corresponding Member), Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, UK, Kathryn A Higley (Member, C4 Vice-Chair), Oregon State University, USA, Jacqueline Garnier-Laplace (TG 99 Chair, C1 Secretary), OECD/NEA, France, Karine Beaugelin-Seiller (Corresponding Member), French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France, David Copplestone (Member, C4), University of Stirling, UK, Katherine Raines (Corresponding Member), University of Stirling, UK, Tamara Yankovich (Corresponding Member), IAEA, Austria