

1 January 2010

Nominations for the ICRU Gray Medal Invited

The International Commission on Radiation Units and Measurements (ICRU) is seeking nominations for the fourteenth award of the ICRU Gray Medal. The Gray Medal was established by the ICRU in 1967. It is awarded for outstanding contributions to basic or applied radiation science of interest to the ICRU and honors the late Louis Harold Gray, former member and Vice-Chairman of the Commission.

The first award of the medal was made to Dr. Lewis V. Spencer in 1969. Subsequent recipients have been Dr. John W. Boag, Dr. Mortimer M. Elkind, Professor Maurice Tubiana, Dr. Harald H. Rossi, Dr. Dietrich Schulte-Frohlinde, Dr. H. Rodney Withers, Dr. Paul Lauterbur, Dr. Herman Suit, Dr. R. Michael Fry, Dr. Martin Berger, Dr. Charles Metz, and Dr Eric Hall.

The fourteenth award was presented to Dr. Albert van der Kogel at the European Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology meeting held August 30 – September 3, 2009 in Maastricht, Netherlands.

For the fifteenth Gray Medal award, the Commission will give preference to individuals who have made major contributions in the field of basic radiation science.

Nominations for the medal may be made by any person or organization. They must include a complete biographical sketch (curriculum vitae) of the nominee, selected reprints or records which show the significant contributions made by the nominee, and letters of support evaluating the importance of the contributions. Nominations should be directed to the Chairman of the ICRU, Suite 400, 7910 Woodmont Avenue, Bethesda, Maryland, USA 20814 and must be received by the ICRU no later than June 1, 2010. For further information contact:

Patricia Russell, Executive Secretary, ICRU Suite 400, 7910 Woodmont Avenue Bethesda, Maryland, USA 20814 Phone: (301) 657-2652, Ext.31

Fax: (301) 907-8678 Email: icru@icru.org